September 22, 2019 4 min read


Snowdonia Wales is a region and part of north west Wales. Snowdonia used to refer to a general area within the county of Gwynedd (formerly Caernarfonshire) and centred on the Snowdon mountain itself, one of the traditional Seven Wonders of Wales. Nowadays the general name of the Snowdonia mountain area refers to the wider area of north west Wales.

Other Related Blogs

Within Snowdonia lies the Snowdonia National Park stretching from the counties of Meirionnydd in the south to parts of Conwy and Gwynedd in the north. The towns of and villages of, for example, Bala, Barmouth, Beddgelert, Betws y Coed and Harlech, for example are within the national Park but the wider Snowdonia region also includes the towns of Cricieth, Porthmadog, Abersoch, Caernarfon, Pwllheli and Bangor.

Snowdonia boasts an historic mountain railway, namely the Snowdonia Mountain Railway that was built and completed during the period 1894 to 1896. Based in Llanberis, its route climbs to the summit of Wales's highest mountain, Snowdon at 1,085 metres or 3,560 feet above sea level, making Snowdon the highest mountain in England, Ireland and Wales. Snowdon is the tallest of fifteen peaks over 3,000 feet in Wales feet and is also the wettest place in Wales with over 180 inches of rain per year. The Snowdonia weather needs to be taken seriously and respected.

From the summit, there is one of the finest panorama views in Britain, where on a clear day the views stretch as far as Ireland, Scotland and parts of England. You can see the Wicklow Mountains near Dublin, the Preseli Mountains (or hills?) in Pembrokeshire, the Isle of Man and the Lake District in north west England.

Snowdonia (Eryri in Welsh) and Snowdon Mountain (Yr Wyddfa in Welsh)

Snowdonia includes many other mountain ranges other than Snowdon itself. These mountains include Cadair Idris in the south to the Glyders, Carneddau, Moelwyn and Snowdon itself in the north of the region. Snowdon itself is part of the Three Peeks Challenge, namely the climbing of the three highest peaks of Scotland, England and Wales, often within 24 hours.

Snowdonia National Park

The National Park covers an area within north west Wales of some 823 square miles, or 2,130 square Kilometres. The landscape is diverse combining spectacular, soaring mountains peaks with agricultural land and tourist attractions. It has a population of some 26,000. As well as being the largest National Park in Wales, it was also the first national park in Wales. Snowdonia has many record breaking features – it has the highest mountain in England and Wales, the largest natural lake in Wales, as well as a wealth of picturesque villages like Bala, Betws y Coed, Beddgelert, Dinas Mawddwy, Harlech and many others.

Snowdonia includes 90 mountain peaks and mountain ranges other than Snowdon itself. These mountains stretch from Cadair Idris in the south to the Glyders, Carneddau, Moelwyn and Snowdon itself in the north of the region.

Snowdon Mountain Railway

Following the completion of the railway in 1896, visitors have been travelling to Llanberis, to experience this unique rail journey to the Summit of the highest mountain in Wales and England. The railway is a narrow-gauge rack and pinion tourist mountain railway that climbs over 2900 feet and travels for 4.7 miles (7.6 km) from Llanberis to just below the summit of Snowdon. It is the only public rack and pinion railway in the UK and after more than 100 years of operation it remains a popular tourist attraction carrying over 100,000 passengers annually.

The railway operates during the period from March to November each year, sometimes in the harshest weather conditions. At the summit lies the highest visitor centre in the UK, namely Hafod Eryri. The new visitor centre was completed in 2009 and has over half a million visitors a year.

Welsh for Snowdon and Snowdonia

Snowdon the mountain is Yr Wyddfa in Welsh whereas the Snowdonia mountainous region is Eryri. Eryri is now thought to have derived either from the name Eagles or from the Latin Oriri meaning highlands. It is thought that the name Snowdon derives from Old English word for "snow hill". The Welsh name, Yr Wyddfa means "the tumulus" or "the barrow", which may refer to the cairn thrown over the legendary giant Rhitta Gawr after his defeat by King Arthur.
According to the last Census in 2011, more than 26,000 people live within the park with 58.6% of the population Welsh speakers.

Things you may not know about Snowdonia, Caernarfonshire

  • T E Lawrence (1888 - 1935 ) also known as Lawrence of Arabia was born in Tremadog near to Capel Peniel.
  • Bangor has the longest High Street in Wales
  • RAF Llandwrog is the home to the first RAF mountain rescue service
  • One of Wale's most celebrated composers, Dafydd y Garreg Wen is buried near Pentrefelin, Cricieth. In 1923, it was to Dafydd's tune that the Welsh language was first heard on the BBC in Britain.
  • Aber Falls, near to Abergwyngregyn is the largest natural waterfall in Wales.

About FelinFach

Our company, FelinFach Natural Textiles is located in the heart of the Preseli area of Pembrokeshire near to Boncath. We design Welsh blankets, Welsh woollen blankets and throws which are traditionally woven at Welsh mills. We also design and make natural hand dyed yarn, cotton, silk and wool scarves and other handmade products. We are a proud supporter of the Campaign for Wool, Global Welsh and Wales International.

Other Related Blogs


Also in Blog

FelinFach supports Forest Conservation projects. Jari Pará Project is a forest conservation project. It reduces potential greenhouse gas emissions by protecting a forest (almost twice the size of Luxembourg) that otherwise would have been destroyed
FelinFach is Carbon Neutral

January 16, 2021 3 min read

We have always aimed to operate our business as sustainably as possible. In January 2021, we became a carbon neutral company with a zero-carbon footprint!

Whilst our carbon footprint has never been high, we have actively taken steps to reduce it. We have also purchased offsets to cover 100% of all our carbon emissions.

Read More
Santes Dwynwen | St Dwynwen's Day, Patron Saint of Welsh Lovers | Llanddwyn Island - Ynys Llanddwyn
Santes Dwynwen - St Dwynwen's Day

January 09, 2021 5 min read

Santes Dwynwen, St Dwynwen's Day is Wales' St Valentine’s Day, celebrated on 25th January and is the most romantic day in the Welsh calendar year. It is celebrated with the giving and receiving of cards and presents and by saying "I Love you" in Welsh, "Rwy'n dy garu di". Show your proud Welsh heritage and point of difference by celebrating St Dwynwen's Day as opposed to Valentines Day!!

Read More
Cwm Gwaun Pembrokeshire - Hen Galan - New Years Eve 13th January - Calennig in Cwm Gwaun
Hen Galan - New Year's Eve 13th January

December 31, 2020 5 min read

In the Welsh village of Cwm Gwaun (the Gwaun valley), near Fishguard, Pembrokeshire in Wales, locals are keeping old traditions alive by celebrating the New Year, known as Hen Galan, 13 days after everyone else. Back in the 1700s, the people of Cwm Gwaun used the Julian calendar and still do. New Years Eve is on 13th January!!!

Read More